My Top 5 Mental Toughness Books

My Top 5 Mental Toughness Books

Everybody is an athlete, our offices are just different. 

“You are paid to read.” That’s what my coach told me, so I obliged. It takes Mental Toughness and discipline to read and consume information. Here’s my top list of mental strength books. 

 The Power of Broke: How Empty Pockets, a Tight Budget, and a Hunger for Success Can Become Your Greatest Competitive Advantage I never watched Shark Tank, but I do know FUBU-For Us By Us. I’ve also been broke. This book by Daymond John is a fast read, but more importantly is chocked full of stories and insight from the best entrepreneurs on how:

Empty pockets, A tight budget, and a hunger for success is actually a competitive advantage.

 The Forgotten Highlander: An Incredible WWII Story of Survival in the PacificThe Bridge over the River Kwai was a movie I watched with my dad.

This book is exactly like that, except it’s not Hollywood; it’s the “real” thing. All I can say is that after reading these mental toughness books, I realized that I can’t basically complain about anything. I simply take too many things for granted. #perspective.

 Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Dont This is the 2nd Simon Sinek book I’ve read and this book is better than Start with Why.  I always thought that the main chemicals in our brains for success were just endorphin & dopamine, right?! The feeling from a job well done and the feeling of exercise. 

These are selfish chemicals though, Serotonin & Oxytocin are the leadership chemicals in our brains. The specific actions that we take release or don’t release the essential chemical we are really seeking. This is just one of the fascinating nuggets from the book.

 Spy the Lie: Former CIA Officers Teach You How to Detect Deception My kids are still young, but I’m now prepared for when they become teenagers. This is one of the mental toughness books that you apply only when needed and you kind of forget you had that skill locked away. 

 Coaches & Parents- You need to read this book! I actually preferred the audiobook on this one and I think you’ll hear why. 

 Extreme Ownership: How U.S. Navy SEALs Lead and Win Jocko Willink has a podcast that is just straight up nasty. There are so many HUGE learning lessons from the podcast as well as the book. Since not many can actually relate to Navy Seals and their extreme disciplined level of life, this book breaks it down so that no matter your profession, cause, or passion, you’ll benefit from reading it. These are one of the mental toughness books that you apply immediately. 

It boils down to one thing- there are no bad teams, only bad leaders. Discipline = Freedom.

Dr. Rob Bell is a Sport Psychology Coach. DRB & associates coach executives and professional athletes. Some clients have included three different winners on the PGA Tour, Indy Eleven, University of Notre Dame, Marriott, and Walgreens.